Any change to the Layer -> Publishing -> HTTP Settings options are lost if the user changes tab and saves.
This does not happen when changing other settings, for example the Default Style.
Log in the administration page
Open an Edit Layer page (any layer)
Select the Publishing tab
Edit an HTTP Setting
Select the Tile Caching tab
The new HTTP Settings are not preserved.