When performing a selective Backup & Restore, the plugin basically does a copy of the existing resources from the source catalog.
During this phase, it copies also the LayerInfos and LayerGroupInfos, by assigning to them a new ID.
The problem is that doing that an event is raised from the gwcCatalog listener to create a TileLayer defaults in case it does not exist, despite the admin has explicitly deleted it.
This should not happen. If I removed a TileLayerInfo from my catalog, I don't want it appearing again after a restore.